I love hearing about people’s favourite stories as that is the way of keeping the stories alive. I have very fond memories of sitting on my grandad’s lap being read Rupert the Bear. As i have read to my children over the years i think that ‘Owl Babies’ is one of my favourites.

childtasticbooks

I was browsing on Twitter tonight when I came across a link to a Guardian feature on footballers choosing their favourite books – as a child and an adult. You can read them here.

This is fantastic fodder for young children, especially boys, who might be reluctant at picking up books. What I found especially inspiring was the number of non-fiction titles in there for the adult reads. This really does help to show that it’s not just hefty fictional tomes that count as ‘proper’ reading but biographies, political essays, and travel writing, too. There are novels in there too but there’s a great mixture of subjects which shows just how broad reading is.

The children’s choices were interesting to note. Many were well established classics, such as Dr Seuss, Harry Potter, The Gruffalo, etc, which many children will probably have encountered at school at least, if not at…

View original post 214 more words

